Spring Commencement



Registration and Records


Spring Commencement

» Honorary Degree Recipients

Honorary Degree Recipients

At its 144th Commencement on May 30, 2015, Elmhurst College will confer honorary doctoral degrees on three people whose commitments and achievements embody the College’s mission, vision and core values.

The 2015 honorary degree recipients are:

Dr. Craig Dykstra
A nationally known and esteemed theologian, author and educator at Duke Divinity School, Craig Dykstra formerly served as senior vice president for religion at the Lilly Endowment.

Alfred N. Koplin
President of Alfred N. Koplin, Inc., Al Koplin is a real estate investor and business leader who has served on the Elmhurst College Board of Trustees since 1981. He is a generous donor to the College and to the community at large.

Chris Ryan ’82
The nationally known CEO of The Women’s Hospital (Indiana), part of the Deaconess Health System, Chris Ryan has an extensive record of civic engagement on nonprofit health services boards. In 2011, Ryan was named one of the Top 52 Women Hospital and Healthcare Leaders.

Bobby Shew
A renowned trumpeter, teacher, writer, recording artist and frequent guest performer at the College’s Jazz Festival, Bobby Shew has been helping Elmhurst College music students master their craft since 1986.

Chris Ryan will deliver the commencement address.

Share |

Follow Us: Flickr YouTube Instagram

Elmhurst College • 190 Prospect Avenue • Elmhurst, Illinois 60126-3296 • (630) 279-4100 or (630) 617-3500


Undergraduate Admission • (630) 617-3400 • (800) 697-1871 • admit@elmhurst.edu


School for Professional Studies • (630) 617-3300 • (800) 581-4723 • sps@elmhurst.edu


Elmhurst Learning and Success Academy Admission • (630) 617-3752 • elsa@elmhurst.edu


Presidential Search • presidentialsearch@elmhurst.edu


Technical Support