Elmhurst U. Honors 2022 Winners of Founders Medal, Alumni Merit Award

October 18, 2022 | by the Office of Marketing and Communications
Betsy Goltermann and Ed Momkus, Elmhurst University Founders Medal winners.

Elmhurst University 2022 Founders Medal recipients Betsy Goltermann and Ed Momkus.

Elmhurst University recently honored five people with two of the University’s most prestigious awards, the Founders Medal and the Alumni Merit Award, for their exemplary contributions to the University and the community beyond.

The Founders Medal celebrates those who have distinguished themselves through philanthropic or personal service to the University. This year’s medal was given to alumnus Ed Momkus ’74 and his wife, Betsy Goltermann. Both are accomplished business and civic leaders, as well as significant supporters of Elmhurst University. Over more than 30 years of giving, the couple has provided generous support to the University’s Annual Fund, Mock Trial Program, American Dream Scholarship, and many other funds. Momkus also is a longtime member of the University’s Board of Trustees, and served as chair for the past five years.

The Alumni Merit Awards celebrate Elmhurst graduates who have made outstanding contributions to the community and to their alma mater.

Shaheen Wolff, Jacob Stelter and Lynda Nadkarni, Elmhurst University Alumni Merit Award winners.

Alumni Merit Award winners Shaheen Wolff, Jacob Stelter and Lynda Nadkarni.

The Distinguished Young Alumni award winner this year is Jacob Stelter ’11. Dr. Stelter is a faculty member in emergency medicine and sports medicine at NorthShore University HealthSystem, and also teaches emergency medicine at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine. In addition, he serves as lead physician at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon, and has been an instructor for the Chicago Police Department special weapons and tactics team.

Shaheen Wolff ’87, co-dean of Elmhurst University’s School of Business, received the Distinguished Service to Alma Mater award. Wolff spent more than a decade in mergers and acquisitions within the health care industry, but considers her corporate experience a warmup for her true calling—teaching. She has served for more than 20 years as a faculty member and on numerous boards and committees.

Lynda F. Nadkarni ’87, ’92, was the winner of the Distinguished Service to Society award. Dedicating her life to service, Nadkarni serves as minister of mission and outreach at Riverside Presbyterian Church and also is active in her work with Refugee One and the Riverside-Area Refugee Resettlement Team, a group of 300 people dedicated to aiding refugees.

All of this year’s winners were recognized at the annual Founders Recognition Evening on Oct. 13.

Connect with #elmhurstu