Five Elmhurst Students Receive Top Achievement Awards

May 21, 2014 | by the Office of Marketing and Communications

During its annual Honors Convocation ceremony earlier this month, Elmhurst College announced the recipients of the Founders Award and the Senior of the Year Award, which are among the College’s top honors for individual student academic achievement.

The 2014 Elmhurst College Founders Award went to Stanley Washington of Chicago; Colin Clark of Royal Oak, Michigan; Eleni Vrettos of Cicero; and Rachel Trumpy of Orangeville, Illinois. Marissa McLean of Baldwinsville, New York, was named the 2014 Senior of the Year.

The winner of the highly sought-after Senior of the Year Award is selected by a special committee of the Elmhurst College Alumni Association. The association created the award to honor the senior who typifies the Elmhurst College graduate. The winner excels in academics and campus involvement, and is committed to continuing the Elmhurst College tradition.

Marissa McLean has been an Orientation Student Leader and has been involved with the Student Government Association, Relay for Life Steering Committee, Concert Choir, Women’s Chorus and Niebuhr Hall Council. Her participation in Say Yes to Education and a study-abroad course in Jamaica gave her the opportunity to work with students and, she says, taught her “how to be a better, more patient and kind human.” McLean is a graduate of Charles W. Baker High School, and she is the daughter of Dianne McLean.

The Founders Award recognizes self-initiated service that effects change and embodies humane values. One award is given for self-initiated service to the campus; a second is given for service to the community; and the third is given for global service.

Stanley Washington received the award for Service to the College Community. A senior from Chicago, Washington has served as a mentor through the President’s Leadership Academy, Direct Connect and Student of Color programs. In addition to serving as president of Black Student Union, he has been a member of Niebuhr Center Ministry Team, Spiritual Life Council, NAACP and Student Government Association. His parents are Stanley and Gloria Washington of Chicago. He is a graduate of Whitney M. Young Magnet High School.

Colin Clark received the award for Service to the Greater Society. Clark is a junior from Royal Oak, Michigan. He has been a participant in Habitat for Humanity, the Student Nurse Mentorship Program, Relay for Life and Best Buddies, as well as an Orientation Student Leader and a Leadershape graduate. He says that nursing is a career of service—“the service of being an advocate for future patients … a voice for people who are not able to speak.” His mother is Ellen Clark of Royal Oak, and he is a graduate of Royal Oak High School.

Eleni Vrettos also received the award for Service to the Greater Society. Vrettos is a senior from Cicero. She is a LeaderShape graduate who also has been a member of the Honors Program, Global Poverty Club, Community Outreach Program, ECHO and Niebuhr Center. She believes that “success isn’t measured by what you have accomplished; it is measured by what you have learned from your experience.” During her sophomore year, she was named a Golden Apple Scholar. Her parents are Nikolaos and Pauline Vrettos of Cicero. She is a graduate of J.S. Morton High School.

Rachel Trumpy received The Cureton Award for Service to the Global Community. Trumpy is a senior from Orangeville, Illinois. She is a LeaderShape graduate and has been a member of the Catholic Students Association and the Honors Program. She has volunteered at Elmhurst Memorial Hospital, the Henry Hyde Resource Center and the Dare to Dream program. She also serves as a volunteer EMT in Green County. This work inspired her to spend time in Trinidad and Tobago helping in orphanages. After graduation, she will attend the University of Illinois’ rural medical education program. Her parents are Eugene and Catherine Trumpy of Dakota. She is a graduate of Dakota Jr.-Sr. High School.

Connect with #elmhurstu