Elmhurst College Alumni Celebrate Homecoming 2017

October 3, 2017 | by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Hundreds of Elmhurst College alumni celebrated Homecoming & Reunion Weekend 2017 with multiple reunions, recognition of distinguished alumni, a roaring bonfire and much more.

New at Homecoming this year was a bonfire and pep rally on the Mall, an event that drew hundreds of alumni, students and Bluejay fans on Friday, September 29. Earlier in the day, nearly 200 members of the College community, including alumni, attended “Dare to Disagree,” the College’s first “teach-in,” to explore questions about free speech and inclusivity. The Russell G. Weigand Center for Professional Excellence also celebrated its 20th anniversary, in its new location in the A.C. Buehler Library.

At the All Athletics Reunion Dinner that evening, five alumni were inducted into the Bluejay Backer Hall of Fame, including: Jim Brusveen ’72, who excelled on the football, basketball and baseball teams; Mark Corsello ’12, a three-time All-American in wrestling; Henry L. Ellis ’81, a three-time all-conference basketball player; Zachery Hofer ’12, one of the best baseball players in Elmhurst history; and, as a special recognition inductee, the Reverend Dr. Joseph John Richardson Sr. ’89, better known as “Rev. Joe.” The Langhorst Legacy Award was given to football player Andrew Warsen ’17, considered a student athlete who embodies work ethic, determination and a team-first attitude.

The Alumni Awards breakfast, held on Saturday, September 30, was another highlight of the weekend. Alumni and Faculty Merit Awards are given to alumni and faculty who have made exemplary contributions to society and to the College. This year’s honorees were:

  • Zubair Ali Ahmed ’06 and Katherine M. Lenz ’09, who received the Young Alumni Award;
  • Susan Frick ’85, who received the Distinguished Service to Society Award; and
  • Herbert K. Washington Jr. ’97, who received the Distinguished Service to Alma Mater Award.

The College also presented the Dr. Andrew K. Prinz Faculty/Staff Merit Award to Frank Mittermeyer, a retired biology professor and founding director of the Center for the Health Professions.

View photos from Elmhurst College Homecoming & Reunion Weekend 2017

Connect with #elmhurstu