‘The Leader’ Wins 20 Illinois College Press Awards

March 10, 2023 | by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Group of people holding rewards

Elmhurst’s student newspaper, The Leader, took home nine honorable mentions and 11 awards, including second place statewide in the Critical Review category, at the 2023 Illinois College Press Association (ICPA) conference.

“This is a tremendous accomplishment, especially considering some of the stiff competition our students were up against in this year’s awards,” said Eric Lutz ’11, an adjunct faculty member and The Leader’s faculty advisor. “It really speaks to the hard work and talent of this group of student journalists.”

At the conference, held earlier this spring in Chicago, awards were given for work done in the 2022 spring and fall semesters. The Leader won recognition for sports photography and writing, layout and design, editorial writing, advertising, and second place for General Excellence in their division (schools with undergraduate enrollments under 3,000). Awards were given for individual stories as well as packages.

“Seeing all of our hard work pay off at ICPA was very reassuring,” said Editor-in-Chief Ryan Windle ’23. “I felt immense pride in our staff and everyone who contributed to The Leader’s success.”

Illinois College Press Association
Awardees from The Leader

Open Category
(Statewide competition)

  • Critical Review — 2nd place, Sarah Glees ’24, of West Dundee, Ill.
  • Entertainment Supplement — Honorable mention, Leader Staff
  • Print Advertisement — Honorable mention, Rachel Fratt ’24, of Las Vegas
  • Digital Advertisement — 3rd place and honorable mention, Abbey Mark ’23, of Roselle, Ill. 

Divisional Category
(Enrollment under 3,000)

  • General Excellence (print) — 2nd place, Leader staff
  • Editorial —3rd place and honorable mention, Leader editorial board
  • News Story — Honorable mention, Adriana Briscoe ’24, of Mt. Prospect, Ill.
  • Sports Game Story —3rd place, Kween Jéan ’22, of Houston, Texas; honorable mention, David Castañeda ’23, of Corona, Calif.
  • Sports Feature — 2nd place, Ryan Windle, of Tinley Park, Ill.
  • Sports Column — 3rd place, Ryan Windle
  • Sports Photo — 1st place, Olivia Rueff ’24, of Franklin Grove, Ill.; 2nd place, Alyssa Kuehne ’24, of Machesney Park, Ill.
  • Front Page Layout — 2nd place, Rachel Fratt and Abbey Mark
  • Feature Page Design —Honorable mention, Rachel Fratt
  • Front Page Design — Honorable mention, Rachel Fratt
  • Sports Page Design — Honorable mention, Abbey Mark
  • Sweepstakes — 3rd place, Leader staff

Connect with #elmhurstu