Elmhurst College Integrated Curriculum

Areas of Knowledge

To complete your degree requirements at Elmhurst, you’ll complete at least one course in each of nine Areas of Knowledge:

  • Inquiry into Ethics and Justice
  • Religious Studies in Context
  • Literature
  • Fine Arts
  • Historical Analysis
  • Social and Political Analysis
  • Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences
  • Physical Science
  • Life Science

The areas of knowledge are goal-driven and interdisciplinary, developed around specific objectives approved by the faculty. Thus, each area of knowledge includes courses from a variety of departments. For more details and a list of courses that meet the requirements, see Approved Area of Knowledge Courses (pdf).

In addition to the area of knowledge requirements outlined above, the Integrated Curriculum includes requirements in Developmental Experiences, Skill and Value Development (Tagged Courses), and Proficiencies.

Share |


Follow Us: Flickr YouTube Instagram

Elmhurst College • 190 Prospect Avenue • Elmhurst, Illinois 60126-3296 • (630) 279-4100


Undergraduate Admission • (630) 617-3400 • (800) 697-1871 • admit@elmhurst.edu


School for Professional Studies • (630) 617-3300 • (800) 581-4723 • sps@elmhurst.edu


Elmhurst Learning and Success Academy Admission • (630) 617-3752 • elsa@elmhurst.edu


Technical SupportPrivacy Policy