Areas of Knowledge

The Areas of Knowledge are broad and interdisciplinary, developed around specific objectives approved by the faculty, and include courses from a variety of departments.

You’ll complete at least one course in each of the nine areas:

  • Inquiry into Ethics and Justice
  • Religious Studies in Context
  • Literature
  • Fine Arts
  • Historical Analysis
  • Social and Political Analysis
  • Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences
  • Physical Science
  • Life Science

You will be able to complete some of these requirements through courses you’re already taking for your major or for tagged courses.

Students and guests may search for courses by Area of Knowledge on Self Service (Search for Courses).

More information is available in the 2023-2024.

Connect with #elmhurstu