COVID-19 Updates

Read the latest announcements and testing info.

Elmhurst University Mathematics/CS&IS/Physics Seminar Series

Please contact Dr. Abigail Hoit if you would like to give a talk.

Spring 2021 Seminar Schedule

Updated March 1, 2021

Thursday, February 25

Dr. Satyan Devadoss, University of San Diego
ACCA talk sponsored by Lewis University
5:00–6:15 p.m. “Unsolved Math Mysteries at Burning Man”

Wednesday, March 3

Dr. Abigail Hoit, Elmhurst University
4:00–5:00 p.m. “Block Products and Digital Sums”

Wednesday, March 10

Dr. Manmohan Kaur, Benedictine University
4:00–5:00 p.m.
“Creative Outcomes in a ‘Math for Poets’ Course”
Join Us on Zoom

Wednesday, March 24

Dr. Jessica OShaughnessy, Shenandoah University
ACCA talk sponsored by Lewis University
5:00–6:15 p.m. “Mathematics in Communications”
Request Zoom Link

Wednesday, March 31

No Seminar (Spring Recess)

Wednesday, April 7

Dr. Dale Hathaway, Olivet Nazarene University
4:00–5:00 p.m. “The Many Surprises of the Birthday Problem”
Join Us on Zoom

Wednesday, April 14

Dr. Angela Antonou, University of St. Francis
4:00–5:00 p.m. “Seeking Inspiration: How to Find a Topic for Mathematics Research”
Join Us on Zoom

Thursday, April 22

Dr. Randy Paffenroth, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
ACCA talk sponsored by Lewis University
5:00–6:15 p.m.
Topic TBA
Request Zoom Link

Wednesday, May 5

No Seminar (Reserved for Alternate Senior Paper Presentation Date)

Wednesday, May 12

Senior Paper Presentations
4:00–5:00 p.m.
Join Us on Zoom

All talks are online. The links will be posted on this page. All of the talks are appropriate for a general audience. Please contact Dr. Abigail Hoit for more information, or if you would like to give a talk this semester or next year.

Connect with #elmhurstu