Band History

The Elmhurst University Jazz Band was formed in 1968 under the leadership of Dale Hamilton. The band first participated in the Elmhurst University Jazz Festival in 1969.

In the early 1970s, the band was at times a combo, although the big band configuration was used whenever there were sufficient students available. Leadership was provided primarily by Paul Tolosko, with Larry Cangelosi also assuming the directorship for a short time.

Doug Beach was named director in 1978 and has led the band ever since. The band has traveled throughout the world, performing in more than 25 countries, and has won numerous awards.

Since its founding, the Elmhurst University Jazz Band has appeared with some of the top musicians in professional jazz. Here’s a sampling.

Michael Abene
Jamey Aebersold
Ashley Alexander
Patti Austin
Louie Bellson
Wayne Bergeron
Bob Bowker
Bob Bowman
Randy Brecker
Dee Dee Bridgewater
Nick Brignola
Alan Broadbent
Bob Brookmeyer
Conte Candoli
Pete Christlieb
Mark Colby
Ronnie Cuber
Jeremy Davenport
Jay Daversa
Orbert Davis
Barret Deems
Denis DiBlasio
Steve Erquiaga
Bill Evans
Art Farmer
Bobby Floyd
Gary Foster
Tom Garling

Terry Gibbs
Bunky Green
Tim Hagans
Jeff Hamilton
Bud Harner
Matt Harris
Tamir Hendelman
Bill Holman
Les Hooper
Steve Houghton
Milt Jackson
Clay Jenkins
Warren Kime
Lee Konitz
Pat LaBarbera
Christoph Luty
Dennis Mackrel
Kevin Mahogany
Frank Mantooth
Eric Marienthal
Phil Markowitz
Andy Martin
Rob McConnell
Paul McKee
Don Menza
Lanny Morgan
New York Voices
Nicholas Payton

John Pizzarelli
Don Rader
Bob Rummage
Tom Scott
Bob Sheppard
Bobby Shew
Kelly Sill
Howie Smith
Gary Smulyan
Ed Soph
Byron Stripling
Clark Terry
Mike Tomaro
Ryan Truesdell
Chris Vadala
Bill Watrous
Jiggs Whigham
Mark Whitfield
Steve Wiest
Ernie Wilkins
Patrick Williams
Kai Winding

Connect with #elmhurstu